1. Akoki Aaron Mojolaoluwa, Grand Prize Winner
  2. Olugbenga Dominion Mojolaoluwa, 1st Runner-Up
  3. Ezima Chinasa Margaret, 2nd Runner-Up

The Wole Soyinka International Cultural Exchange (WSICE) is pleased to announce the winners of the2023 Essay Competition, which is the 14th edition of the annual youth mentoring and mental capacity development initiative.

The 2023 edition of the competition focused on Nation Building, Good Governance, and National Development. Students from different schools were required to explore Wole Soyinka’s Humanism, Artistry, and Nationalism in their thought process and writing.

The announcement of the Essay winners coincides with the 89th birthday anniversary (July 13) of the Nobel laureate, Wole Soyinka, the eminent literary artist, teacher, and rights activist,, whose exemplary life and career as a global culture icon and humanist, inspired the project.

Since its launch in 2010, the competition has served as a platform to mentor the youths to imbibe the culture of participating I socio-cultural and political discourses in their environment. It enables the young ones to engage in healthy dialogue about national and international issues, testing the creativity and intelligence of the participants, and building their self-esteem.

A record number of one hundred and eleven (111) entries were received from fifty (50) schools from which 89 finalists were selected through a rigorous process of adjudication by a panel of literary workers and social workers.

After the exercise Akoki Aaron Mojolaoluwa, a Senior Secondary school (SS) 2 student of Adedokun International School, Ifo, Ogun State, emerged as the Grand Prize winner of the WSICE 2023 Essay Writing Competition.

The WSICE also wishes to congratulate the following students:

First Runner-up: Olugbenga Dominion Mojolaoluwa – Salawu Abiola Comprehensive School (SNR)

Second Runner-up: Ezima Chinasa Margaret, Anglican Girls Grammar School (SNR)

We thank all schools and students for their participation and remain committed to our goal of fostering unity, bolstering integrity, and instilling qualities of good leadership as values, stated Dr Teju Kareem, the Executive Producer of the annual WSICE.

Below are the WS 89 finalist names and schools in no particular order:


1 The Ambassador College, Ota:
Seth-Osahahumen Deborah

2 Victory Model College: Kazeem Sofiat Dolapo

3 Dayon College :
Ariyo Aanuoluwapo Peace

4 Ijebu Ode Grammar School: Tope-Ige Joseph. Ayokunnumi

5 Braford Schools:
Badejo Temiloluwa

6 Salawu Abiola Comprehensive High School: Olugbenga Dominion Mojolaoluwa

7 Peartree International College Olomore, ABK
Umar Peter Olamilekan

8 Adeola Odutola College (Private) :
Adebisi Oluwamayoma

9 Apt Scholars Universal College Iyana-Iyesi:
Otiono Onyeka

10 Mulusi College Ijebu Igbo: Moshood Dhikraa Titilayo

11 Ijebu Anglican Diocesan College, Igan Ipabi:
Johnson Jesutofunmi Janet

12 Ode Remo High School (SNR):
Popoola Josephine Adunmide

13 Anglican Girls Grammar School Senior private:
Ezima chinasa Margaret

14 Abigi Community Grammar School, Abigi:
Abdulrasaq Aishat Omoyemi

15 Saapade Grammar School: Olajide Emmanuel

16 Isara Secondary School: Ogunyemi Samson

17 Saint Peters College (Senior): Ochola Ngbede Blessed

18 Adedokun International School, Gasline:
Adegbayibi Elizabeth

19 Salawu Abiola Comprehensive High School: Adebayo Taiwo Isreal

20 Golden Choice College: Akinola Ayodeji Adeniyi

21 The Crescent International High School:
Oyewole Adetimehin Godwin

22 Adedokun International School:
Adeniran Micheal Oladapo

23 African Church Grammar School (SNR) :
Adebayo Ifeoluwa Adeyemi

24 Purpose Driven School Ijoko: Adams Elizabeth

25 Onigege College,Isara: Micheal Alice Ijogo

26 Adedokun International School, Ifo:
Akoki Aaron Mojolaoluwa

27 Adedokun International School, Ota : Micheal-Onu Gabriella Somtochi

28 Salawu Abiola Comprehensive High School: Ahmed-Junaid Aaliyah Ikeola

29 Saint Paul College : Akomolafe Emmanuel Smith

30 The Christ Cornerstone High School:
Amusan Oluwafikayomi Emmanuel

31 Victory Model College : Akpoji Micheal Enahmeghonoh

32 Saint Paul College :
Kendra Femi-Festus

33 Emeritus Prof T.O Oguniesi Model Secondary:
Amos-Chidi Cherish Oluwatamilore

34 Judah Rhema College: Sunday Justice Ojonugwa

35 Adeola Odutola College (Private) : Adedapo Racheal

36 Braford Schools:
Ikumawoyi Emmanuel

37 Adedokun International School, Ifo:
Shoge Almubarak Eyiwunmide

38 Braford Schools :
Jones Isaac Edidiong

39 Saint Peters College (Senior): Olomore Musediq Yemioluwa Rukayat

40 African Church Grammar School (SNR) :
Ojerinde Kehinde Micheal

41 Isara Secondary School: Ogunbade Olansile

42 African Church Grammar School (SNR) :
Ojerinde Taiwo Gabriel

43 Peartree International College, Olomore,ABK :
Oyedele Ifemibo

44 Baptist Boys High School: Eyiowuawi Enoch Mayowa

45 Hope Immaculate Comprehensive High School Ijebu Igbo:
Omorilewa Oreoluwa Shalom

46 Peartree International College, Olomore,ABK :
Balogun Esther O.

47 Standard Bridge Comprehensive Model College Ipokia LGA:
Suuru Sarah Damilola

48 Adedokun International School, Gasline:
Olumodeji Naomi Busayomi

49 The Christ Cornerstone High School Sadiq Sumayah Aderinsola

50 Saint Peters College (Senior) College :
Odukoya Adunola Precious

51 Advanced Breed Comprehensive College: Okosun Rejoice Obehi

52 Isara Secondary School: Fatimehin Iyanuoluwa

53 Advanced Breed Comprehensive College:
Fadero Peace Oluwaferanmi

54 Adeola Odutola College (Private) :
Osanyintola Oyinade Elizabeth

55 Advanced Breed Comprehensive College: Kunle-Ajayi Oluwasetemi John

56 African Church Grammar School (SNR) :
Olushola Divine Glory

57 Advanced Breed Comprehensive College: Oguntayo Tofunmi Victoria

58 Braford Schools :
Ojo Samuel Oluwasegun

59 Advanced Breed Comprehensive College: Olayinka Gloria Blessed

60 The Christ Cornerstone High School:
Kehinde Oluwabusolami Favour

61 Ilusin Grammar School Ilusin (Senior):
Gbadamosi Kafilat Glory

62 The Christ Cornerstone High School:
Mosaku Precious Atuntirireoluwa

63 Comprehensive High School, Ayetoro: Yusuf Ayobami Mary

64 Standard Bridge Comprehensive Model College Ipokia LGA:
Kudeti Kazeem Babatunde

65 Agunbiade Victory High School, Magbon:
Atoh Bolaji Abiodun

66 Yewa Secondary School (SNR) Igbogila:
Bamgbose Oluwatobiloba Olamilekan

67 Abeokuta Grammar School: Nwabueze Precious Kachi

68 Itele High School (SNR) Ijebu Itele:
Akpavie Eoma Fehintoluwa

69 Sanni Luba College, Ijebu Ode:
Arowosola Ololade

70 The Christ Cornerstone High School: Asipa Francis Toluwanimi

71 Victory Model College: Kazeem Sofiat Dolapo

72 Sunnarian Model College, Abigi:
Salami Rukayat Omolade

73 Saint Paul College :
Abe Enoch Oluwanifemi

74 Isara Secondary School: Sotikare Oluwasegun

75 African Church Grammar School (SNR) : Alex Monday Emmanuel

76 Nawair-ud-deen High School: Adewunmi Elijah Akorede

77 Saint Peters College (Senior): Oloyede Ikmat Ayomide

78 Saint Paul College, Sagamu: Odusanya Oluwatomisin

79 Methodist High School (Senior) Arigbajo:
Akinbode Ayomikun Deborah

80 Saint Paul College :
Osinowo Omotayo

81 Standard Bridge Comprehensive Model College Ipokia LGA:
Adeniyi Lukman Olamilekan

82 Emeritus Prof T.O Oguniesi Model Secondary:
Ekundayo Amirat Bisoye

83 Efire Community High School, Efire : Oluwole Esther

84 Visionmate Comprehensive Academy :
Olutayo Ayomide

85 Standard Bridge Comprehensive Model College Ipokia LGA: Saanu Seseyon Emmanuel

86 Pakoto High School, Ayede: Ifo Okeke Cynthia

87 Peartree International College, Olomore,ABK :
Sanusi Faidat Blessing

88 Pacesetters College, Ayetoro:
Oyebanjo Oreoluwa Favour

89 St Anthony’s Grammar Sch (SNR) Esure ,ijebu:
Akinola Oluwanifemi Elizabeth

Media & Communications Unit
Tel: +234 708 271 3477


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here