The Warri Boys Social and Welfare Society, a.k.a Warri Boys Association (WBA) on Sunday, September 11, 2022 at the prestigious Lagos Country Club, elected a new National Executive Committee (NEC) members during the association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM).

While some of the NEC members emerged unopposed, it was a keen contest between Matthew Ogagavworia, Barr Felix Eshalomi and Dan Oputu for the position of National President of WBA. At the end of the 3-horse race, Ogagavworia emerged as the President having garnered the highest number of votes cast, while Barr Eshalomi trailed him to the second position and Oputu settled for the 3rd position.

In the spirit of oneness, Barr Eshalomi was nominated for the position of Vice President and was unanimously seconded by members. To this end, he was returned unopposed. Also returned unopposed for a 2-year tenure of the NEC are: Doran Ayi – General Secretary, Ese Kagbare – Assistant General Secretary and Oghenerieborue Sodje – Treasurer.

Others are Alex Eyengho – Publicity Secretary, Ben Edafiadjebre – Financial Secretary, Dafe Sama – Social/Welfare Officer,
Francis Obilome – Provost/Chief Whip and
Barr Oke Joseph – Legal Adviser. The immediate past President, Harrison Jalla automatically remains as Ex-Officio member of the NEC. Upon their elections, the NEC members were immediately inaugurated by the Legal Adviser of WBA, Barr Oke Joseph. Mr. Peter Arigbe was also ratified as the Chairman of Board of Trustees (BoT) of the association.

In his acceptance speech, the new President, Matthew OGAGAVWORIA, FCA said: “On behalf of the National Executive Committee, I want to express our gratitude to members who have supported the process and assure them that our promise to members will be kept. We also look forward to the support of members to deliver on the mandate given to us.”


Alex Eyengho
Public Relations Officer (P.R.O)
Tel: 08038603734.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here